Will Christians Face Judgment? Part 4

5 Crown Rewards

Wednesday, August 9, 2023

I.Will Christians Face Judgment?

A.The Judgment Seat of Christ

1. Foundation verses: (2 Cor. 5:9-10) All believers must stand before the Judgment (Bema) Seat of Christ. This judgment is not a matter of salvation but a matter of gain or loss of reward based on our deeds (works), desires (secret thoughts), declarations (words) and dependability (stewardship).

a. (1 Cor. 3:5-15) each believer will receive his own reward according to his own labor.

B. 5 Crown Rewards at the Judgment Seat of Christ

1. (Eph. 1:11; Col. 3:23-25) The reward of our inheritance will be determined at the Judgment Seat of Christ.

2. There are different kinds of believers in the body of Christ.

a. Escaping Christian – they’ve accepted Jesus as Savior at some point in their life. There’s not much if any evidence that they are a believer. (1 Cor. 3:1-3; Gal. 5:19-21; 1 Thess. 4:3-8)

b. Casual Compromising Christian –  they’re born-again, may even attend church and even volunteer, but they are more discipled by the culture than Christ. (Heb. 5:12-14)

c. Committed Christian – these are sold out to Christ. They are faithful to the things of God.  They love the word, to serve, to worship, and praise. They witness to their family, friends and co-workers. They produce good fruit. They’re not perfect but repentant. (Mark 4:20; Gal. 5:22-25)

3. 5 Crown Rewards

#1 The Crown of Life (Jas. 1:12; Rev. 2:10)

Believers who maintain their love for Christ while triumphing over persecution, temptation, and even martyrdom, receive this crown.  Many people will receive this crown because they gave their life for their faith, but there will be others wearing this crown too. Any believer who has kept the faith when it was costly to do so – will receive the Crown of Life. (Rev. 4:4, 9-11)

#2 The Crown of Righteousness (2 Tim. 4:6-8)

This crown is promised to those who eagerly await the second coming of Christ.  This crown signifies the believer’s steadfastness, faithfulness, and love for Christ’s return. It represents a life lived in alignment with God’s will and the anticipation of eternal rewards.

#3 The Victor’s Crown (1 Cor. 9:24-27 TPT) It is promised to all those who exercise self-control and discipline in all areas of their lives for the sake of the gospel. This crown represents the emphasis on moral purity and godly living, showcasing the believer’s devotion to Christ and the pursuit of righteousness.

#4 The Crown of Rejoicing (1 Thess. 2:19-20) This crown is awarded to those who bring others to Christ. It’s often called the Soul-Winner’s Crown, and it’s the reward given to those who reach out beyond themselves and lead others to Christ. This crown symbolizes the joy and fulfillment believers experience when seeing others come to know and follow Jesus. It emphasizes the importance of evangelism and the Great Commission.

#5 The Crown of Glory (1 Pet. 5:1-4) It is promised to those who diligently shepherd and lead God’s people with integrity and humility. This crown signifies the faithful service of pastors, elders, and anyone who shepherds and guides believers, pointing them towards Christ. It represents the eternal recognition and honor given to those who faithfully served others.

4. Play YouTube video – Judgment of the Believer

[Pastor Lee Stokes]


Email my notes