The Believer’s Ministry Pt5

4 Categories of Ministry: 5 Fold Ministry

Wednesday, February 5, 2020


I        The Believer’s Ministry (Mobilizing the Church)

A.4 Categories of Ministry: Ministry to the Lost

1.(Eph. 4:1 AMP) Every believer is called to the ministry.

2.There are four categories of ministry and all believers are called to the first (3) and some called to the (4th):

a.Ministry to the Lord (ref. 1 Pet. 2:1-10; Rev. 1:6)

~Royal priesthood that offers spiritual sacrifices.

-Living sacrifice




b .Ministry to the Body (ref. Rom. 12:3-18 NLT)

~Serving God by serving God’s people.

~We are all called to serve in our local body with our gifts to build up the body.

c.Ministry to the Lost (2 Cor. 5:9-11, 17-20 AMP)

~Ministry of reconciliation.

d.5-Fold Ministry

3.The 5-Fold Ministry (Eph. 4:11-16)

a.4 C’s of the 5-fold ministry: Calling, Character, Competence, and Chemistry

b.Calling – not a career but a calling by God.

~(Gal. 1:1) called by God not men.

~(Acts 20:28 NLT) Holy Spirit appointed

~(Tit. 1:5 NIV) approved, appointed & sent

c.Character – qualifications of a minister

~(1Tim. 3:1-13 NLT) Elders and deacons

~(1 Pet. 5:1-4 NLT) Elders


~(2 Tim. 2:15 NIV) study the word

~(Tit. 1:9 AMP) hold on to the Word

~(Heb. 13:7, 17 NLT) held accountable by God


~(1 Cor. 9:19-23)


[Pastor Lee Stokes]


Email my notes